Loading coolant types...

Volkswagen Touareg Coolant Type

Select Your Model Year...

Choose the appropriate model year for the Volkswagen Touareg you are trying to find the coolant type for from the list below.

Volkswagen Touareg

Volkswagen Touareg Image

You can find 175 different trims for the Volkswagen Touareg and their corresponding recommended coolant type.

The years available stretch from 1985 through to 2024 and to view the coolant type and capacity you just click to expand.

Volkswagen’s largest model in their SUV lineup, the Touareg, first made its debut over 20 years ago in 2002. Since its release, there have been a total of three generations. The latest of these was unveiled in 2018.

Before the release of the third-gen model, it also received a mid-cycle facelift in 2015.

As mentioned, it is the largest model in the VW SUV lineup, sitting above both the Tiguan and T-Roc.

Depending on the region in question, the Touareg is sold in a number of trim levels. The most notable for these include the Sport, Lux, and Executive. There are also the SE, SEL Tech, and Black Editions, which are typically found in the UK.

Of course, there have also been high-performance versions like the Touareg R. A hybrid version of this made its debut in 2020.

Competition from models besides its siblings has typically come from the likes of the BMW X5, Mercedes-Benz GLE Coupe, and Porsche Cayenne.

There have been a number of engines fitted to the Tiguan over the years. Petrol engines for the first and second-gen models ranged from the 3.2 to the 6.0 L FSI.the largest of these was a W12, which is a fairly rare sight.

Diesel engines for these models ranged from 2.5 L to the fairly large 5.0 L V10.

The third-gen version has been fitted with various engine options. Petrol options include a 2.0 L inline-4 and a turbocharged 3.0 L V6 found in the R plug-in hybrid.

Diesel options for the latest iteration have consisted of either a 3.0 L V6 or a twin-turbocharged 4.0 L V8.

VW initially offered only 6-speed manual or automatic powertrains. However, transmissions have been limited to an 8-speed automatic since the second generation.