Loading coolant types...

Ford Explorer Coolant Type

Select Your Model Year...

Choose the appropriate model year for the Ford Explorer you are trying to find the coolant type for from the list below.

Ford Explorer

Ford Explorer Image

You can find 30 different trims for the Ford Explorer and their corresponding recommended coolant type.

The years available stretch from 1995 through to 2019 and to view the coolant type and capacity you just click to expand.

The Explorer model was first unveiled in 1990, making it one of the oldest SUV models in the Ford lineup. It has also been a staple of the Ford SUV family ever since.

In addition to this, it was officially named the best-selling SUV of all time in America in 2020.

In the 30-plus years that it has been on the market, there have been a total of six generations. The sixth and latest of these made its debut in 2020.

Of course, over such a long stay there have been a number of changes for the trim levels. However, these have been fairly stable over the last few generations. These have consisted of the base, followed by the XLT, ST-Line, Timberline, ST, and Platinum.

There has also been the Ford Explorer Sport and Sport Trac, which were unveiled in 1994 and 2001 respectively. Although these are not the same model, they are based heavily on the model.

Similarly, powertrain options have varied widely. The only consistency is that Ford has never offered a diesel version.

For the latest version, engines range between a 2.3 L inline-4 to a 3.3 L V6. These are fairly similar to previous generations, except the older models tended to have larger engines.

Transmissions have typically been 6-speed automatics, but the latest model is fitted exclusively with a 10-speed automatic as standard.

The Explorer has typically gone up against other American mid-size SUVs. This includes the Dodge Durango, Chevrolet Traverse, and Jeep Grand Cherokee.

Along with being the best-selling SUV of all time in America, it has received a number of other notable awards. Another hugely prestigious award is the 2011 North American Truck of the Year award.